The Truth About IPP Sentences

1,000 police officers and Police Support Officers have criminal records

Corruption? What corruption?

Corruption? What corruption?

Freedom of Information requests have revealed that there are over 1,000 or more police officers and PCSOs who have a criminal record serving in Britain’s police forces. Some forces did not respond so the number may be even higher.

Obviously, not all police officers are bad but it has also been revealed that over the last 12 months 130 Metropolitan officers were allowed to resign rather than face disciplinary hearings, thus saving the police from potentially embarrassing revelations regarding corrupt officers. The excuse for this lack of accountability in some cases was the high cost involved in investigating the corruption or breaches of discipline.

43 officers were actually sacked over the same period. A police officer cannot normally be sacked unless they are guilty of gross misconduct.

According to the Home Office police force figures published in March 2011, the UK has over 137,000 police available for duty (excluding transport police). The Metropolitan police force has just under 32,000 police available for duty so, if one were to be kind, on that basis one may consider that some corruption is inevitable when there are so many police officers in the first place.

However, if you were sitting in jail for 10 years and then discovered that the officer that put you there was in fact himself corrupt, how would you feel then,  particularly if he had been let off scot free and you had another 15 years to go?

If officers resign or even if they are sacked, their past arrest and investigation records are rarely reviewed. If there are no disciplinary proceedings against the officer, none of the facts are examined in any meaningful way – not officially anyway. Therefore, an officer that resigns is not investigated – and neither is their possible corruption of the law.

One police chief in the City of London force has said that it is simply too expensive to put officers through a disciplinary panel. The Independent Police Complaints Commission (IPCC) previously said forces failed to respond to “far too many” complaints about officers.

Commander Peter Spindler, who heads the force’s directorate of professional standards, also said complaints about Met officers had fallen by 9% in a year “due to a lot of hard work”. The head of Scotland Yard standards said it was actually more practical to let some people quit. “It’s actually more pragmatic to let them resign”, Mr Spindler said.

One officer (what the Sun would call a ‘sex fiend’ if he were a member of the public) indecently assaulted a vulnerable teenager. Last month, two officers were dismissed for beating up three men after a car chase, and a trainee detective was sacked after sexually assaulting a vulnerable woman. A major trial of allegedly corrupt police officers costing millions collapsed after vital evidence was apparently ‘lost’ by the CPS and police.

Another anti-corruption detective, Ch Supt Richard Heselden said, “It’s cheaper and quicker to get them out of the force.”

So then, it is ok for the police and Crown Prosecution Service (CPS) to ‘bring to justice’ an old man who may or may not have indecently assaulted a teenager 40 years ago (can you honestly remember in detail what you were doing on a particular day that long ago?) but it is not ok to apply the same ‘principles of justice’ if the offence was committed by a serving police officer within the last 12 months.

One could be forgiven for thinking that perhaps there really is one law for the police and a completely separate penal code for the rest of us. It would seem that actually, if you are a policeman and you commit even a sexual crime, unless the force has absolutely no alternative to prosecute because the offence is already public, the officer concerned is likely to simply be allowed to resign or, in a worst case scenario, be sacked.

Were the perpetrator of that offence an ordinary member of the public however, the CPS and police would go to any lengths possible to prosecute, even if there was no real evidence and the offence allegedly took place 50 years ago.

TheOpinionSite.org has only recently written about police corruption following the report by Her Majesty’s Inspector of Constabularies (HMIC) that showed that the public think that the police are corrupt (http://www.theopinionsite.org/report-by-hmic-shows-that-the-public-believe-police-are-corrupt). It is a sad thing indeed that we are now having to report the scandal of corrupt policemen being let off the hook and avoiding prison just in order to save money and embarrassment to the police.

Sadly, British police are among the most powerful in the world. ‘Sadly’ because it is the same kind of power that is prevalent in condemned police states around the world.

Police officers in Britain hate the Human Rights Act, they detest the Freedom of Information Act, are arrogant, dismissive of complaints against them and consider themselves to be above the law that they supposedly represent. Many are also apparently corrupt. That is the opinion of the public by the way, not just TheOpinionSite.org, although you will not find this site disagreeing with any of the sentiments expressed.

Why is this opinion amongst ordinary people so widespread and how have the police become the way that they are? TheOpinionSite.org believes it is because police officers are getting younger and younger and, like their counterparts in the Probation Service, are coming straight from school and university with no experience of real life whatsoever and with an attitude of ‘we have the power to screw your lives, so do as we say , or else’. They are completely career-minded, completely risk-averse and have no consideration for anyone other than themselves. Critically, they love the power as well.

The days of the mature, responsible bobby have long gone. Young officers nowadays can’t wait to get their hands on the latest tazer gun or sign up for firearms training. They have only two aims in life: arrest and bring to court, that’s it. The concept of truly ‘serving’ has been replaced with one of ‘ruling’ the public.

They have been given this damaging and obnoxious power by successive governments that don’t have the courage to make difficult, unpopular decisions themselves and prefer instead to delegate such decision making to what has become known as ‘the uniformed branch of government’, the police. The principle that the police should be separate from the Executive seems to have passed by those in power completely unseen and unheard.

Even David Cameron, our somewhat slippery prime minister has said that ‘People must obey the rules.’ He did not want to be drawn on whether or not the ‘rules’ were fair or just to those ‘people’.

It is unacceptable that a corrupt police officer with the power to destroy lives should be allowed to walk away without consequences when they are found out. It is certainly not acceptable that the politically ambitious and sanctimonious Home Secretary, Theresa May allows these actions to continue when she is fully aware of what is taking place; and if she is not aware, she should not be in office anyway.

The public cannot have respect or confidence for any officials that are corrupt, particularly when those same corrupt individuals have power over the rest of us. Nor are matters helped when the Commissioner of the Metropolitan Police states that he ‘wants criminals to be afraid of the police’.

The truth that he and other officers conveniently miss again and again is that nobody is a criminal until lawfully convicted, they are not a criminal just because the police say or think that they are a criminal and, given the manner in which some ‘easy target’ prosecutions are pursued, the person concerned may be innocent anyway.

Margaret Thatcher once said that she was ‘shocked’ at how much hate there was towards the police from ordinary members of the public. Since she said that, the British police have acquired immensely more power than they had at that time and they abuse that power somewhere, against someone every day.

Many ordinary people feel that the police are greedy, overpaid, dishonest, power-drunk, arrogant and completely contemptible. It should be stated that there are of course some officers with integrity but they are seemingly becoming increasingly hard to find. Give a young police officer a tazer gun and he will fire it, whether it’s use is justified or not. Tell a detective about any alleged sexual offence and they will arrest, charge and if possible convict, even if there is no real evidence and the allegation relates to something that may or may not have happened a quarter of a century ago.

Policemen grab these types of opportunities whenever they can for one reason only; they are easy, take little effort and guarantee a result – even if it is sometimes the wrong one.

Find a corrupt officer though and the story is one of complacency, economics and face-saving. Our ‘wonderful’ police are, it would seem, sometimes no different to the people that they arrest other than the fact that one group carries a warrant card and a pair of handcuffs and the other does not.

Despite the fact that most people understandably want to trust the police, it is little wonder that the public have so little faith in  them when the fact that so many officers have been found to be corrupt was only revealed after an act of parliament that police hate (the Freedom of Information Act) was invoked.

One may think that chief constables may have been better off putting aside their arrogance for once and being honest with the public about the cancer within their forces. To do so however would mean admitting that the police are not omnipotent, do make mistakes and frequently get everything wrong; something that they will never be prepared to admit, not with the amount of perverted power that is now is available to them.

Is there a solution? Certainly; just take some of their power away but, regrettably, that is something that the politicians will never do. In fact, as time goes on they will do exactly the opposite and give the police even more power than they have now. Politicians (and some police officlove creating fear in society as it gives them more power.

So much for democracy and a free society.

Tags: , , , ,

12 Responses to 1,000 police officers and Police Support Officers have criminal records

  1. Dorothy Rose
    February 4, 2012 at 11:24 pm

    I honestly believe all these men and women should lose their jobs and pensions immediately. I was brought up to respect and trust the police, unfortunately over the last 20 to 30 years my opinion has changed dramatically, a policeman lied against me in court and i proved him wrong he has hounded me ever since. This I know is a very minor instance but I have heard of many more I am 69 and my 87 year old neighbour feels the same way so it is not just young people who feel like this.

  2. James
    January 29, 2012 at 1:57 pm

    Kind of ironic that these people are responsible for CRB checks.

    • Shaikh
      April 23, 2012 at 9:22 am

      This isn’t just reporting incmoe.This is turning over bank statements and credit card bills then explaining how you came to own that million-dollar home and fancy car.It goes beyond report incmoe to catch catch dirty cops.One of the things when corrupt cops are caught is that very often it becomes obvious that officers couldn’t afford their lifestyle on a their legal salary.

  3. William Garland
    January 12, 2012 at 6:19 pm

    An excellent article, as usual,though I wish, I could share your optimism of huge public disquiet at them and their behaviour. If, only, this were true, if it were, you would get even the politicains and the tabloid media demanding something should be done to curtail their powers. I take, as my example, the public reaction, to the numerous miscarriges of justice, over the past 25 years, most of which had police handiwork behind them, where were the mass demonstrations in the streets, demanding the punishment of officers involved in gross fabrication of evidence or destroying evidence, favourable to the defence, in such tragic cases as Stefan Kisko or the Cardiff three. It is interesting, to note that not one former Police officer, has ever been convicted in any of these cases, in fact many, were’nt even charged, and I suspect here, the handiwork, of our old friends, the Free Masons.

    Of course, in most of Europe, they do things, differently, ie more democratically and civilised, an independent body, takes charge of the investigation of a major crime, in France, I think, its called the Juge D’Intruction or Examining Magistrate, who the police have to work under and who directs them and who most importantly, is neutral, so will look to find evidence, favourable to the defence as well as the prosecution. The setting up of the Crown Prosecution Service, tilted a little, towards this, but not enough and how our Police, even objected, at this slight clip in their powers, I remember their arrogant response to this body, set up under the Thatcher government, believe it or not!, they in fact relabelled it “The Criminals Protection Service”. When you see any major crime reported today, say for example on the television, you will see the area cordoned off, with ticker-taped signs saying, “POlice” and Police Forensic Officers at the scene (not neutral one’s, and some Senior Detective, often (without being snobbish) struggling with the Queen’s English, giving the reporters un update on how the investigation is going and I expect, in all this, they are still up to some of their old tricks, as regards ensuring, only evidence, favourable to the prosecution reaches the Courts.

    And as for the uniformed officers, I am afraid, they still, have this wonderful public relations industry, working for them, as always the tabloid press, and of cours, the numerous fictional Police drama’s, that still clog up our TV schedules and on the old digital, Street Wars, Road Wars, Night Cops etc, where we are all suppose to marvel at the policing skills of Molly or Rosie and Daz and any other manner of fawning silly nicknames they employ and their arrogant estuary drawl, when they stop a suspect, saying, something such as “alright buddy”. And, of course you sometimes, witness on these programmes, some highly dubious Policing, like for expample, when the occupants of a stolen car, made a run for it, and two girls in the back (who probabally were forced to go along with the crime) who were apprehended immediately, as they could’nt run very fast and I saw four male officer’s using totally disproportionate force on one of the tennagers, who was not putting up a fight and was only 15 years of age, in fact she was very distressed and crying for her Mother. So, if they can behave like this in full view of millions of viewers on Television, imagine, what they will get upto in private.

  4. richard wragg
    January 11, 2012 at 3:11 pm

    Thank you for you’re very erudite and brilliant article.I come from Bournemouth,and its corrupt Gestapo arrogant morons are just pissing everybody off.Well done keep it up,more from me later as i continue to expose these scum.

  5. Michaela
    January 9, 2012 at 12:52 pm

    I once worked as a civilian with two police forces. Most mornings a divisional sergeant visited the car pound removing any objects of value to sell off. (The car thieves would get the blame) As Christmas approached the RCS appeared and opened their car boots filled with stolen/acquired goods, toys etc. and try to sell them off cheap to us.

    I also have personal experience of police criminality directed at me. I was a whistle-blower. The police force naturally attracts criminal elements, and even NEEDS this kind of mentality to deal with non-licenced criminals. Many retired or dismissed police officers become private investigation agents and carry out very dubious work, often in league with serving colleagues. This industry is completely unreulated, highly secretive and even their numbers are unknown.

    It’s a very blurred line, and these figures only represent formally convicted criminals in those forces who have provided the information – a fraction of the total. Most have yet to be found out.

    • Raymond Peytors - theopinionsite.org
      January 9, 2012 at 12:54 pm

      Thank you for your honesty which, I am sure, will be appreciated by our many readers. – Editor

  6. brenda.jones
    January 9, 2012 at 9:35 am

    very true there is a lot of corrupt cops especially cid ones they use the power of there uniforms its a discraze ive no respect for them at all there all bent and lawyers barristers and judgeswe dont stand a chance unless we have lots of money or are in with them

  7. Jenny
    January 8, 2012 at 7:40 pm

    I’m British and I hate criticising the police but how can we possibly trust them when it’s like this? It seems that every part of government is corrupt and everyone is afraid to say so.

  8. Richard McMillan
    January 8, 2012 at 5:18 pm

    We are not surprised, dropping selection standards, height, IQ etc, what else do we expect. But as they say ‘ we have the police forse we deserve’.

  9. alana
    January 8, 2012 at 2:07 pm

    Ha ha ha! Well done” now tell us something we don’t already know.
    Great website Raymond, keep up the good work.

  10. Paul
    January 8, 2012 at 1:57 pm

    Why am I not surprised? They kept this pne pretty quiet didn’t they. Won’t be long before we have curfews and snatch squads.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

SPAM protection: Please fill in the missing number... Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.