The Truth About IPP Sentences

Hillsborough proves Britain’s police can never again be trusted

Hillsborough proves that Britain's police can never be trusted again

Hillsborough proves that Britain’s police can never be trusted again

The confirmation of massive police corruption and dishonesty relating to the Hillsborough disaster has sadly but unambiguously confirmed what TheOpinionSite.org has been saying for years: British police officers can never be trusted.

It is not only the scale of the corruption engaged within the South Yorkshire force that has shocked the public; not even the fact that the then officer in charge, Sir Norman Bettison has gone on to an illustrious career with West Yorkshire Constabulary or that he tried to smear the High Court judge who led the original Hillsborough inquiry in 1989.

It is not even the fact that the West Midlands police that investigated the South Yorkshire force gave that force a clean bill of health over Hillsborough, despite knowing full well that officers were lying and altering evidence in order to protect themselves.

It is not even the fact that the police themselves doctored and edited more than 100 statements of evidence in order to blame fans and exonerate officers, sickening though that is.

What has dragged Britain’s police to the gutter is the fact that for 23 years, police officers who knew that their colleagues were at fault said nothing and the criminals wearing police uniforms who thought they had got away with it were prepared to do anything necessary to hide the truth, safe in the knowledge that neither the government, MPs or the press would ever speak out against “Britain’s wonderful police”.

With politicians and police officers, civil servants and even the Sun newspaper queuing up to say “sorry” after having forced untold misery upon Hillsborough survivors and relatives of those who died, this week the airwaves have been full of putrid, verbal vomit issuing forth from the mouths of those who were involved.

Finally, the deceit was confirmed on Wednesday, even though most British people were already fairly convinced that gross police dishonesty and corruption had taken place 23 years ago and every day since.

The nauseating and ever arrogant Kelvin Mackenzie, the former editor of the Sun who published the headline, “The Truth”, finally admitted he would have been better off using the word ‘lie’ instead. This nauseating man has no excuse though as even the reporter who originally covered the story told Mackenzie at the time that the headline was wrong and should not be used.

The principal source for the story, a former right-wing, wealthy Conservative MP, Sir Irvine Patrick also tried to squirm his way out of trouble by claiming that he had been given “wholly inaccurate” information by the police. TheOpinionSite.org suggests that he should have kept his mouth shut instead of trying to cash in on the then fashionable view that all football fans and young people were thugs; a view still held by many Conservatives today.

For all their statements of ‘remorse’ – if one can call it that – the real truth in all this is still not being discussed openly because for many, the truth is too terrible to contemplate:

That truth is that British police are and have always been corrupt and that successive governments have made it easier for them to act dishonestly by giving officers excessive powers which are open to varying interpretation exercised under what is hypocritically termed, “Professional Judgement”.

The former Home Secretary, Jack Straw was criticised by Thatcher supporters for saying that Margaret Thatcher had to keep the police on the side of the government because it was necessary for the police to deal with the miners, who were in revolt against the government, in a “partisan” manner; the very manner in which police should never act.

As TheOpinionSite.org has pointed out before, the dishonesty and deceit went right to the top of government at the time of Hillsborough and still does to this day. The present Home Secretary, Theresa May and her recent predecessors have given even more draconian powers to policemen in an attempt to thwart judges and to prevent justice being administered in our evidence-based courts instead of in the local police station by often biased police officers.

The proof is that everyone in government for the last 23 years knew that the police were corrupt; ministers and MPs knew that by giving police more powers, government was less likely to be blamed when things went wrong; they were all praying that the truth would never come out.

Don’t listen either to those senior police officers and politicians who tell us, “Things are very different now.”

The only thing that is different is that Britain’s police today have even more excessive power than they had before and even greater opportunities to misuse that power.

The evidence for ongoing police corruption is clear and plentiful:

Hillsborough, the Leveson Inquiry, failed phone-hacking investigations, revelations that the tabloid press and the police are feeding off each other, ‘lost’ police evidence leading to the collapse of major trials involving former officers, arrests of policemen for everything from Class A drug distribution to downloading child porn, misuse of the Police National Computer, false arrests, failure to submit to questioning by coroners in ‘suspicious’ or ‘death in custody’ cases…the list goes on and on and on.

Britain’s police cannot be – and yes, let’s say it – should never be trusted again. There will always be the risk that they will behave as though they were ‘above the Law’, just as they have done in the past. It is today just too easy for them to break the law, lie, fabricate evidence and ‘fit people up’ as has always been suspected but is now proven.

The same thinking can be applied to the agencies that associate most with the police; prisons, the Probation Service and the highly secretive and unaccountable MAPPA system. They are also just as dishonest and corrupt as Britain’s police forces, as the thousands of people who have suffered at the hands of these agencies would testify if only they had the chance to do so and were not scared out of their wits to take the stand.

The late Lord Denning made it clear that in his opinion, the police always tell the truth. We now have absolute proof that in reality, they often lie through their teeth.

After Denning’s death, the second appeal of the Birmingham Six succeeded but only after the bigoted and frankly rather naive old man was dead and buried.

In 1980, Lord Denning refused the first appeal of the Birmingham Six, giving as one of his reasons:

“If they won, it would mean that the police were guilty of perjury; that they were guilty of violence and threats; that the confessions were involuntary and improperly admitted in evidence; and that the convictions were erroneous – – -. That was such an appalling vista that every sensible person would say, ‘It cannot be right that these actions should go any further’.”

Unfortunately, everything that Denning was afraid to admit has now been proved to be true. The British police are corrupt, have always been corrupt and, in the view of many ordinary members of the public, lawyers and even some judges, are always likely to be corrupt.

The same applies to the Probation Service and associated agencies.

For example, it is absurd and unjust that an often inexperienced probation officer should be advising a judge on the sentence to be handed down to an offender by means of a highly subjective Pre-Sentence Report. The sentence is for the judge to decide; it should have nothing whatsoever to do with the probation officer or the probation officer’s opinionated and usually career-advancing views.

Hillsborough and the revelations relating to the tragedy – a tragedy that may have been avoided – have scared today’s government into making an apology, though what use that is exactly is open to question.

TheOpinionSite.org believes that what is really necessary is for police officers, especially senior police officers, to be stripped of many of the legal and decision making powers that they have, that such powers should be returned to the hands of unbiased judges and that policemen should do what they are supposed to do: to collect evidence and to uphold – but not make or force the creation of – the laws of the land.

The sad truth is that with the ‘tribal’ mentality that exists in the UK’s police forces, even were an officer want to come forward to tell the truth about a colleague, he would be too afraid to do so; afraid of losing his job, his pension and possibly even being ‘fitted-up’ himself.

Whatever opinion one may have previously held, if we are to judge on the evidence that we now have, both old and new that the police are corrupt from the very top to the very bottom, it is simply not reasonable to believe or even to hope that Britain’s police officers can ever be trusted ever again.

TheOpinionSite.org makes no apology for saying, “We told you so” for the sad fact is, we did.

(The Hillsborough Report is available at http://hillsborough.independent.gov.uk/repository/report/HIP_report.pdf and you can discuss this topic further by joining our Forum)

Tags: , ,

16 Responses to Hillsborough proves Britain’s police can never again be trusted

  1. Interested
    February 6, 2014 at 5:29 pm

    So, as Police officers are officers to the crown, if they falsify evidence or behave in any way corruptly, this is an act against the crown. Is that not TREASON?

  2. rick dale
    December 12, 2013 at 6:36 pm

    Hi what has happened to me over the past 4 years you would not believe I have been arrested 4 times had two shoulders broken (no charges against police) had the IPCC & PSD uphold three complaints against my local police in Mildenhall I have had one conviction for calling WPC Self a silly tart section 5 public order one size fits all charge (she is a silly tart) .
    I have watched with my own eyes Police Officers lying through their teeth under oath covering up for their fellow officers.
    What is really scary about this how many other times have these officers lied ? They are nothing more than bullies in uniforms and in my own personal view they are no better than the NAZI’s

  3. Richard
    November 9, 2012 at 9:31 am

    I notice you mentioned Lord Denning. He was founding trustee of the Leonard Cheshire charity. In 1971 1972 Welsh Regional Crime Squad was conducting Home Office inquiries into the registration of alien careworkers sponsored to UK by Leonard Cheshire and his wife Sue Ryder.

    This influx of charity care workers seems to have coincided with a redundancy exercise laying off British residential care staff. In Suffolk such workers had made urgent application for council housing.

    This was also at the time official Sue Ryder, with her charity founder Airey Neave, had “Released” 1200 persons from German post war internment.

    The Welsh RCS extended their inquiry on suspicion about GP death registration practices connected with the charity care homes. On suspicion that UK identities were being acquired by burying UK patients in false names.

    The Welsh RCS Det sgt was then allegedly threatened by Special Branch to drop the escalating inquiry. And RCS discovered that there was a secret monitoring and reporting exercise run from MI5 via Forces Special Branch liaison to protect the charities and their founders from proper lawful police inquiry.

    Two persons had independently formed suspicions. In Wales the RCS Det sgt. In Suffolk the volunteer New Zealand Matron (Mary McGill) at the HQ Care Home of the Sue Ryder charity which was also Leonard Cheshire and Sue Ryder’s family home.

    Both the Det sgt and Matron McGill died suddenly and received suicide verdicts.

    There has long since been an overwhelming case to quash the Matron McGILL suicide verdict. But under Section 13 of the Coroners Act 1988 the Attorney General uses his absolute secret custodianship of public interest powers to deny access to the High Court.

    The McGILL case attracted this comment from Ros Howells during the Lawrence inquiry (special advisor to doreen Lawrence now Baroness
    Howells)

    “What Suffolk Police did in the McGill case was far far far worse than anything Met did in the Stephen Lawrence case”

    A secret inquest was held within the Sue Ryder Home where Matron McGill had died. Just 3 days after the death. The holding of an inquest was concealed from family and friends. The inquest was held whilst Ryder misled the family death had been certificated as natural causes. Ryder conned UK cremation consents out of the NZ McGILL family. Cremation occurred at Colchester 1st Feb 1972. only in the following week did the NZ family discover that their sister had died drowning in the home lake and a suicide verdict had been recorded. The body cremated it was too late for legal representation at inquest and too late for full independent autopsy.

    The NZ Govt tried to re-open the Suffolk Inquest but were fobbed off by a lying report (Concealing the existence of dissenting Suffolk Police Coroners Officer) from Suffolk Chief constable and Home Office.

    Lord Denning is the judge who re-iterated a principle of law that no matter how high you are the law must be above you.

    Unless you are in the Denning circle ??

  4. Ron Martin
    September 19, 2012 at 1:42 pm

    Writing this massage the day after 2 policewomen were murdered only serves to show that there are some good coppers out there … generally low ranking … generally new to the force and still filled with notions of helping people and fighting crime.

    Sadly the euphoria of rookie cops does not last and within a very short time, they become embroiled in the politics of the job and soon seem only too willing to lie and cheat their way to an arrest record that is admired and praised by their senior officers.

    Birmingham Six, Guildford Four, Blair Peach, Stephen Lawrence, Roger Sylvester, Mikey Powell, Jean Charles de Menezes, Ian Tomlinson and now Hillsborough are some examples of police corruption and incompetence … yet still their word will be accepted by a Magistrate before that of a member of the public.

    No wonder Vigilanteism is on the rise …

    • John
      September 22, 2012 at 8:48 am

      @Ron – another gross generalisation. Our local sergeant has been around for years, has the respect of everyone and is trusted by most. You have listed 9 major incidents over the last forty years or so when the police have been wanting. I wonder for the sake of completeness if you could add up the many hundreds of high profile cases where the police have proved their worth to society? Would you have wanted to be on the streets of London last August facing thousands of knife carrying disaffected youths armed only with a stick?

      • Aremus
        September 22, 2012 at 9:27 am

        Sticks? You mean a steel baton that, were anyone else carrying it, would be an offensive weapon and which can crack a man’s skull in two. Not to mention the still unauthourised taser rifles, the full riot gear – including lethal, hard-edged shields and the CS gas grenades.

        The fact is that thepolice have far too much power that should be in the hands of the courts, are arrogant, think they are above the law and frequently abuse the authority and power that they have wrongly been given.

        Why would the public ever respect people like that?

      • pete
        September 22, 2012 at 8:54 pm

        I agree that the police have an impossible job: it’s impossible to be part of the capitalist State’s most coercive force and on the side of ordinary people at the same time. I also find that I agree that gross generalisations are misleading. Like, for instance, the gross generalisation peddled out virtually every day by mainstream media outlets and politicians of all persuasions that we should all glorify and worship the police because they are the heroic “thin blue line” separating “us” from danger and disorder, or that they’re all decent, honourable chaps apart from a few “rotten apples”.

        But it might be more useful to ask who defines “disorder” and what, or who, does our current “order” serve? Working class cops who cheerfully crunched their steel batons (“sticks”) upon the skulls of fellow working class lads during the miners’ strike of the 80’s, who sneeringly waved their overtime payslips contemptuously in front of nearly starving strikers, don’t strike me as especially honourable or brave. Lying, blatantly and systemically, about working class football supporters at Hillsborough in order to conceal incompetence, overzealousness and stupidity hardly inspires much confidence.

        Perhaps the issue really does boil down to one of trust. And here, I think Raymond Peytors was too moderate: we should never trust our authorities, police included, not because they are inherently corrupt (and I remain to be convinced that they aren’t) but because the price of liberty is eternal vigilance.

        “Trust” is a form of narcolepsy, or at least laziness. Intelligent scepticism (not blanket cynicism) is the key to holding our rulers responsible for their actions. We owe it to liberty, to freedom of association, to reason and sanity, to hold those with material power over us to account, to demand that they are accountable to the people, and that they base their strategies and policies on reason and evidence, not prejudice or the influence of special interests. Sadly, we remain very, very far from that modest ideal.

  5. John
    September 18, 2012 at 4:41 pm

    You read the above, then you read things like this happening.

    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-19635239

    I am sure – like any other profession in the world – there are some people within the police who are ‘bent’, or blinded by power or promotion prospects, or who have their hands tied feeding their political masters. I am also sure they are in a small minority however. I firmly believe the vast majority of the police – certainly at the lower ranks – are in their jobs for the right reason and deserve our support and thanks for putting their lives on the line for us time and time again. To just say blanket statements like ‘the police can never be trusted again’ is not helpful. To any police officers reading this – you have my admiration for the impossible job you find yourself doing most of the time.

    • anon
      October 30, 2012 at 2:50 pm

      I am a serving police officer you are wrong. The vast majority of my co-workers are at best looking the other way and at worst enjoy the tribalism and exploit it for personal furtherance. The few honest cops I know are in the process of being driven out of the job (as am I). The honest are a threat and cannot be tolerated by the system, had I been working hillsborough I would have refused to go along with it my co-workers know this and as such are terrified of me.

      • Richard
        November 9, 2012 at 9:54 am

        In about 1971 Sir Robert Mark warned that “We no longer recruit the most able but the most malleable to be our police officers to make of them what we will”

        1971 was a year in which sociology research was conducted on police recruits. Ostensibly into peer pressure (Canteen mafia it was called) effects within police. It seems far more likely that this was about harnessing peer pressure effects rather than eliminating them. And so cheeky is the result it is even now in the so called Home office key competencies guised as “To see things from the others point of view and encourage others to do the same”.

        IIRC “Institutionalized racism” was a sort of red herring concept invented for the research to test trainee constables for gullibility.

        State policing was always going to hit problems in UK. We used to elect constables in parish elections. After we defeated Napoleon the people were aghast at the very idea of introducing a Napoleonic bad habit (Gendarmerie) to this land of the free.

        But in 1829 the State (10 years after it abandoned compulsory apprenticeships) introduced state selected and state imposed policing. The people tended to refuse to refer to state police as constables.

        A constable is an independent ministerial officer of the Crown who is charged with duties (By whomsoever and in whatsoever way) and not given orders other than by way of judicial warrant.

        An early attempt, by what the people chose to call “Police soldiers”, at kettling a political meet in the 1830s saw one state policeman killed. With a 17 man Coroners jury unanimously deciding death was inflicted as justifiable homicide.

        The balance of power in the constitutional monarchy is Crown and Govt. Judiciary, Armed Forces and Constables are authorized by the Crown (The marriage of monarch and people arising from Coronation oaths)

        The only real way Govt can hijack Crown power is to manipulate the recruitment to Crown office men and women unsuited for sworn office. Hence the taking of the constable oath to get “The job” followed by every day of service betraying the oath to the Crown.

        Jack Straw went further with the hijacking of our power. He repealed the Unlawful Drilling Act 1819 to end the Crown monopoly on the raising of military force. A treacherous police and private armies ??? I give you the current UK.

  6. uaruman
    September 16, 2012 at 9:18 pm

    Beautifully put. The Police are, and have always been, utterly corrupt. No amount of platitudes from various Home Secretaries can alter that fact. The question is, where do we go from here? More importantly, how do we resolve the blatant corruption that is endemic
    in both Goverment and the supposed forces of Law and Order?

    Everybody knows there is something wrong, and has been for years. Fortunately through the Internet, and sites like yours, people are more aware than ever of the rot that runs from top to bottom in the establishment.

    For all the talk of removing some of the draconian laws, introduced by no less than Tony Blair (a War Criminal by any other name)we are still no further on. Where do we go from here?

    Power corrupts, total power corrupts totally.

  7. verity
    September 16, 2012 at 6:38 pm

    Far too many ordinary law abiding people have been innocent victims of police practice, who have wrongfully been dragged through the ‘judicial process’ by those who are in possession of evidence who should (if the law was being upheld)have stopped the process immediately that evidence was realised and not continued for the purposes of a ‘sanction detection’ that is knowingly false and for a political statistic geared to make the government appear on paper to be ‘tough on crime and tough on the causes of crime’.

    For the State to conduct a witch hunt against innocent citizens using a fashionable crime that instils fear of that crime among the populous is at best reprehensible and in reality, criminal and to arbitrarily change laws and deprive citizens rights and protections in law as set out in the Magna Carta 1275 (for very good reason), in order to facilitate government agendas is clear evidence of a police State.

    For decades ordinary people have been used as cannon fodder and are viewed as political collateral by the State and its agencies of law.
    In that I encompass the lot from the police, solicitors, barristers, judges, Courts of Appeal, Home Secretaries, Ministers of Police and Ministers of Justice.

    I am aware there are decent right thinking people within the aforementioned but they are accessories to the fact as they have for reasons known only to themselves not stood up and spoken up and by that inaction have condoned the continuance and perpetration of corruption of and misfeasance in the administration of the judicial process.

    I have been banging on about this since it came to my attention in 2009.
    The elephant has been in the room for far too long.

    The truth can only be sat on for so long and the more it is sat upon the more likely it will erupt into the open with volcanic proportions but tragically in the meantime lives have been lost and destroyed.

  8. robert johns
    September 16, 2012 at 5:57 pm

    we need the police ………….but big but i dont trust them lets hope justice is done and the police are brought to court

  9. Aremus
    September 16, 2012 at 1:33 pm

    Brilliant article. Pity a few other sites are not being as honest.

  10. Max
    September 16, 2012 at 1:33 pm

    I shall never trust a policeman again. We have to have them but I for one do not have to believe what they say. Too much power, too often used badly.

  11. Bobjob
    September 16, 2012 at 1:31 pm

    I cannot disagree with any of this. I am fed up with reading false apologies and being told that everything has changed now.

    Thank the lord for theopinionsite. Nobody else is prepared to tell the whole truth. I just hope, for the sake of us all, that people read this article and take it to heart.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

SPAM protection: Please fill in the missing number... Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.