The Truth About IPP Sentences

Jobs for ex-offenders non existent as Probation Service fails to help

CRB checks are causing unemployment

Ex-offenders are receiving no help at all to find work, despite the fact that having a job is one of the most effective ways of preventing re-offending.

In fact, not only are the government doing nothing to help those released from jail but they are actually making it more difficult than ever for ex-offenders by imposing more and more restrictions on them after their release. The end result is that prospective employers cannot be bothered with all the extra formalities imposed by the police and probation officers and don’t even bother to interview those with convictions.

For those convicted of sexual or serious violent offences, the situation is even worse. Anecdotal evidence suggests that fewer than 1 in 10 released sex offenders ever work again. CRB checks, MAPPA, constant supervision and the false presumption that all sex offenders re-offend, which they don’t, make it impossible for employers to take on such people.

This is not the first time that  TheOpinionSite.org has raised this problem but the situation is now far worse than ever before.

We Googled “Jobs for ex-offenders UK” and we found plenty of offers; job offers for the prison and probation services that is, not for those with a criminal record.

Vague titles such as ‘Employment Advisor’ or ‘Careers Officer’ were in abundance. We also found numerous organisations who claimed to ‘help’ ex-offenders. However, on making enquiries we found that they didn’t deal with sex offenders or those convicted of violent offences; in other words, those that make up the vast majority of ‘serious’ offenders.

We asked one organisation their reasons for not helping those who find it most difficult of all to find work. We were told, “To be frank, it’s too much hassle, both for us and the employer. By the time the police and everyone else has had a go, the employer is frightened off or the job has already gone.”

And that is the way the system likes it. If an ex-offender has no job, he has no money, no friends and can’t afford to go out. He stays inside and is much easier to control.

There was a time in Britain when, once someone had served their sentence, they were expected to rejoin the community and the world of work. Nowadays though, society would prefer those same people to either rot in jail at the tax payer’s expense or better still, to just drop down dead.

According to the Probation Service, it is not its job to find ex-offenders a job. It provides a ‘Job Club’ in most areas but these do nothing other than teach people how to produce a CV and ‘how to perform in interview’. That no interviews are forthcoming is apparently not the fault of the Probation Service whose purpose is solely that of ‘Public Protection and prevention of re offending‘.

Well, if having a job is acknowledged as being the best way of ensuring that someone does not re-offend then why do they not assist former criminals in finding one?

The answer lies in a change to the role of the Probation Service brought about by the Blair government  in 1999. Until then, the job of a probation officer was to ‘befriend and support’ ex prisoners. After Blair, their job was to put them back in prison on the slightest pretext and to justify their action under the label of  ‘public protection’.

Tony Blair once famously stood in the House of Commons and proclaimed that he was ‘proud’ that so many released prisoners were being recalled by probation officers.

Nowadays, it seems that the only department responsible for helping ex-offenders back into employment is the Department for Work and Pensions working through Job Centre Plus.

This does not bode well for those released from prison and who are willing to work.

In a letter passed to TheOpinionSite.org, the highly paid ‘Business Strategy and Planning Director‘ of Job Centre Plus, Jacinda Humphrey signing on behalf of the even more highly paid Chief Executive told one ex-sex offender client, “…ultimately, employers must make the decision as to whether they choose to employ you and opportunities in the public sector are extremely limited.”

Some might suggest that the ‘strategy and planning’ undertaken by  Humphrey may warrant serious investigation. Others may simply conclude that nobody cares. In truth, both opinions are probably correct.

As the number of unemployed ex-offenders, especially serious offenders continues to increase, as CRB checks continue to bite and politicians, probation officers, MAPPA officials, so called ‘professionals’ and policemen continue to justify their own existence instead of helping those who need it the most, the number of those re-offending also continues to rise.

So we have a self-fulfilling prophecy brought about by a government whose criminal justice system lies to everyone, including itself; a situation that nobody wants to talk about because to solve the problem means helping those with criminal records, not condemning them.

40 Responses to Jobs for ex-offenders non existent as Probation Service fails to help

  1. James
    June 28, 2016 at 1:39 am

    I am ex offender who has an internet based offense. Never had a problem getting a job in my life, I’m one of those people who believes a good job is one that pays a wage, i’ve never been too fussy. Today I have not only the problem of a criminal record, but also the stigma attached to the type of offense. I can certainly understand peoples judgements and i don’t blame people for being angry, and I can tell them till i’m blue in the face how sorry i am, the responsibilities i have taken, such as getting clean from alcohol and cocaine, helping other addicts. Yet all of that pails to insignificance when they see those words ‘sex offender’

    I’ve spoken to close friends about this, one of them worked in recruitment years ago, and she says the problem is, my friends know me, the good bits, the things about me which keep them being my friends, but the recruiter has a piece of paper with some words on it, and a stack full of other desperate job seekers applications who don’t have criminal records. All of my friends, despite knowing me and who would employ me if they could, admitted that if i went for an interview with them without knowing me, my application would basically go in the bin.

    You see they don’t want to be seen offering ‘any’ help to someone who has committed an offense, partly due to the stigma and partly down to their own personal job security, they feared that IF someone was to commit another offense and they were the ones who offered that person the job, their own judgement would be taken into question, thus their own career could be at risk.

    Simply the risks far outweigh the rewards for potential employers and there really is no shortage of people looking for work who don’t have criminal records.

    I would literally shovel S##t if it meant i could get a wage and be self sufficient again. There is no point turning to crime, since my crime didn’t revolve around selling anything or stealing anything, so the only way forward is to become self employed or suicide, i must admit that noose does look tempting at times, but the ONLY thing that keeps me from doing it is not wanting to put my father through any more pain, bless him, he keeps praying for me to get a job but i know what my real prospects are despite having a good CV.

  2. Joe
    June 25, 2016 at 9:46 am

    I was convicted in 2004 in my very early 20’s. I spent 2 months in prison and was told 10 years on the register. In 2014 the police came to see me on their annual visit and informed me I was on the register for the rest of my life.

    After finally finding love with a foreign girl I’ve been told I’m not able to get into her country.

    Struggling with earning a decent wage, any kind of career or opportunity to progress in life in any way shape or form…this is my second chance? It’s this kind of stress that pushes people to commit crime to begin with. Not that I have any desire to re-offend.

    13 Years on and it’s like a trap. I can appeal in 2 more years and after jumping through all but one hoop(I don’t trust lie detectors) I doubt my appeal will be granted. Maybe 2 more years of suffering. Thanks for turning me into such a productive member of society. Great plan.

  3. Gary Hynes
    September 25, 2015 at 5:04 pm

    I was released from prison on May 2009, and since comimg out of prison, have actively been engaged in different programmes and courses. I have obtained certain certificates, which should entitle me to at the very least to get a job of some description. I have been unemployed since 1998, and feel that it is practially impossible to get a job because of my criminal background. What level of advice is available, and which agencies are approachable in relation to personal disclosure regarding an individual’s criminal background?

  4. Caroline
    January 17, 2015 at 2:23 am

    This is what is driving me mad about the prison and probation system. My other half had a motorbike accident 5 years ago and unfortunately his pillion rider died. My boyfriend spent 1 year in hospital before being sentenced to 5 years for death by dangerous driving. He plead guilty. He has never been offered any form of bereavement counselling or anger management or anything to help him get back into society after years of going in and out of prison. They say rehabilitation of prisoners but all I have seen is vicious circles of people getting stuck in the system. Why the hell do I pay £30 a month tax for some private company (G4) to come in and be even more useless than the under funded government system. No one points out that approx 80% of prisoners have either mental health issues or have not dealt with some tragedy/issue in their past. More help less punishment. Also parole boards should meet people not just read a record. Sorry for the rant people but need to get it out.

    • Caroline
      January 17, 2015 at 2:25 am

      That’s £3000 a month not £30….

  5. JGHB
    November 3, 2014 at 1:42 am

    Dear Reader,

    I has some inheritance money, when I left prison. I wanted to start up a small business hiring another brother (or sister) exprisoner, whose completed the mechanics course inside. I want to install water fuel cells into vehicles & start to help create a greener environment for all.
    Low & behold. The first mention of hiring ANOTHER ex-con of suitable background (non-SOR applicants). The alarm bells started to ring with authorities. Was I creating a team, using my business as a cover to plan & commission further crime. Was it a cover business for wholesale drug distribution (using the vehicles, as the coveyance cover means)?
    To add insult to injury, as I may well qualify for using a card payment machine – could it become used as some instrument of fraud (perhaps NOT by myself, but others involved).
    But the best one, being could I submit a list of actual tooling required (& markout pages in the tool suppliers brochures to allow constables the chance to see the pretty pictures of said required tools – even better, see some poor van rep getting hauled over by traffic plod & subject to a near anti-terror search of his van, in case he was involved too closely). The excuse given – in case it was a “cut & shut” scheme.
    The best suggestion put to authorities. I want to set up an advanced hydroponics growing system, known as Aeroponics. I want to grow vegetables & (legal) herbs for salads & cooking use. Imagine the apoplexy I witnessed over that one!
    One thing you certainly need inside, but also should export with you outside – a bloody good sense of humor with this life existence selected for us!!

  6. Lee Whitmore
    January 10, 2013 at 11:22 am

    I’ve been trawling the web for employment since my release back in 2004. Not all employers request previous criminal history, which in my case, I breathe a sigh of relief to, but when employers do request I know my chances of employment are squashed, although on every occasion the potential employer ensures me that ‘they’ cannot discriminate against me. However, I was found guilty of committing a sexual offence and I’m still without a permanent job despite my many interviews. I too, like yourselves, have checked for jobs for ex offenders and, like you, discovered exactly what you uncovered, jobs for people to work with ex offenders, not jobs for ex offenders as they advertise!

    The authorities, councils and even the DWP, (for a grant), would not assist me because they said I am an ‘untreated’ offender who remains in denial and, therefore, I pose an extreme high level of risk of re-offending. Newport council wouldn’t even place me on their housing list and I couldn’t even get a community care grant!

    I am on the Schedule One Offenders Register for life and I fear that I have to suffer this prejudice for life despite me being released early on parole back in 2004 with just a seven months licence! The Parole Board obviously thought I posed little risk. They are right. I self monitor my surroundings, I ensure I am no where near people which could be seen as a risk and I even report to and updated the Police, (PPU), over and above what is expected of me to do. However, this makes no difference. Hey ho. . .

    • anthony
      September 22, 2015 at 6:57 am

      hi my name is anthony i am 27 years old i got dne fr a sex crime in 2001 when i was 16 i have been trying to find work since 2002 and not a job in sight i dont go out any more i am a prisoner in my own house the social services wont let me get on with my life they took my 2 children away from me i am not aloud any where near them they still say that i am a high risk and that even if i did get a job they would tell them about my crimes i am not on a register but they dont care i dont have to tell the police anything but i am frighternd of what might get said about me i have tryed to take my life on a lot of times i even went into there and said what is my life worth if i cant have a familey i cant have friends and i cant have a job i might as well take my life and all they said to me is if u feel like that we will take u up to the hospital no one helps us and we need to start fighting back thank u for ur time

  7. Kevin Craigie
    November 23, 2012 at 10:56 am

    The employment market has fierce competition these days. What is now happening is that thse who are being offered employment often need to go through a Criminal Records Bureau check, which can take months to complete. There is also the Independant Safeguarding Adults, which is a similar system. Once that minefield has been crossed and the candidate is still in with a chance of gaining employment ( the vast majority do not make it and have no option but to return to a life dependant on the welfare state) There is yet another minefield to cross !! Probation ! These people whose mandate is “to reduce crime and protect the public” may decide to intervene and present your future employer with “full disclosure” which translates into “all the details” which usually reduce your chances of living a life as an included member of society as zilch. The chances of cmmitting further crime is then drastically increased, as is the number of future victims. This entire system is destructive, and needs completely modernised to fit in with a “civilised and productive society”.

  8. Stephen C
    June 28, 2012 at 12:41 pm

    Am out of jail and out of work so started trying to get work for myself and others in my position. Where are all these grants and support. Ive been offered training but no grants for that and starting my own project no grants for that? What can I do? been offered work at CSPlus online a community interest company supporting the long term unemployed and ex offenders. We can’t get a penny off anyone. We have real full time posts but can’t afford to pay for training. Yet other agencies get lots of money for ex offenders to re offend becaues the jobs were short term. Proper frustrated

  9. Karen Keenan
    June 13, 2012 at 9:19 am

    I dont get why they have all these organisations or indeed any help for ex offenders if they are not likely ti gain employment. The government have a massive role to play in this. Now I have no brains whatsoever but surely CRB checks should only be relevant when working with the most vulnerable in society. All other convictions should be quashed from between 1 to 5 yrs depending on the offense. To me if this happened it would give everyone a goal to head for. As it is they have not got that so what is the only resource left. In my opinion it’s go back to old habits cos what have u got to lose. Like I said when I started I have no brains but seems like a no brainer to me. I have no criminal record but still.believe everyone should be given a chance.

  10. diamonds
    April 30, 2012 at 6:51 pm

    The CRB check started out to protected children but them it took a turn for sinister ends; it become control everyone like the terror bill used against citizens. The problem is while most convicts want to go straight they can’t as their past is used against them. It is interesting how sex offenders according to data comes from middle-class to upper back-grounds so they are not penalise as it tends to be the educated. Those who do crimes and come from the lower bracket never will get a job unless they don’t disclose it. As they say’ you pay your sentence not only inside but for the rest of your life’ This contradicts the 1974 rehabilitation act which is suppose to hide your criminal past! so on these grounds why reveal on crb your past unless it is for sex crimes?

    • Roaldin
      April 30, 2012 at 8:14 pm

      I could ask you why you think sex offenders are any worse than other offenders, especially violent offenders, drug pushers and people who break into old ladies’ houses and frighten them to death? Who made you judge and jury anyway? That is why the CRB checks affect everyone.

      • jon
        July 9, 2012 at 6:47 pm

        im a ex convict never for sex offences tho but you sound like a sex offender by protecting them they are worse than people like me i have been done for many acts of violence theft and weapons offences and can not get a job or council home where peado’s and rapist get housed and jobs and are protected while people like me are forced into re offending just to survive the system is totally screwed up iv kept outta trouble for 2 years dont drink alcohol or take drugs and am at the point where prison seems like the only answer as i am broke owe the bank money cant get work to pay them back or pay any of my bills

        • Jenny
          July 10, 2012 at 9:47 am

          You are no better than anyone else and if you think you are, you are obviously an idiot. If you have been convicted of violent and weapons offences, you are no different to a sex offender because like them, you hurt people. Stop blaming everyone else and take responsibility for your own mistakes – then people might help you.

        • Good Wolf Bad Wolf
          December 30, 2016 at 1:13 pm

          Jon. You sound yourself like a wrong-un, not of normal criminal element (nonce). Theft and violence? Does this include robbing vulnerable old ladies in their homes beating them black and blue. You seem to think that this is a far lesser less heinous crime to say downloading a few indecent images. You sound like a nonce to me. If all sex offenders are nonces, then equally indiscriminate violent robbers like you are too. A wise man once said “He who is without sin let him cast the first stone”. Another wise man similarly stated “Those in glass houses shouldn’t throw stones”. Sex offenders don’t find it any easier than you. It seems you have less remorse and more self-pity. Your violent past is not anymore condonable, as it is still hurting others you feel are vulnerable enough. But if you believe it is then you’re excusing it, and maybe that makes you less deserving of rehabilitation than those who are genuinely remorseful of whatever crime they’ve been convicted of themselves.

      • Val Ahm
        November 8, 2015 at 4:58 pm

        In my experience most people have committed a crime at some time in their lives. Yet only those who get caught are labelled stigmatised and punished. The CRB should be scrapped after an offender has completed punishment and a rehabilitation period. What bad luck to get caught though everyone knows it’s mainly the poorest in society that do get caught. It’s terrible to continue to punish them in the employment world too. In fact it must tempt anyone to risk doing another crime and getting caught. How many people can say they never offended? Not many but most didn’t get caught. I know a top police officer who used to smash bus shelters when he was a teen. He never got caught but is he any better than someone who was caught?

    • frustrated and fed up
      October 19, 2015 at 1:21 pm

      I am a well educated 31 year old with a masters in a scientific field of study. I downloaded some illegal images 6 years ago along with some legal porn. Morbid curiosity if anything. I have struggled to find work since, both in an d out of my specific profession. The main problems are the red tape and public hysteria. Many people thought that I should be locked up for life, or even put to death. I do not trivialise my offence, I even privately funded a course in understanding the offence and “relapse prevention” (like i needed it). It make no difference. People with always err on the side of risk aversion, to avoid drama and trouble. It’s such a sad state of affairs that we live in. Believe me, prejudice is not exclusive to the lower classes.

  11. Lelly
    February 23, 2012 at 3:47 am

    All I really want to say is that I feel genuinely suicidal at present for one reason and one reason alone: obsessive thoughts of having become a criminal and of never being able to gain employment again (particularly in the field of work that I really want to be employed in) due to my criminal record.

    I am a recovering alcoholic who has not had a drink for just over a year. I have worked immensely hard at my sobriety because I hated the person that I had become as a result of my drinking and hated the pain that I was putting my loved ones through. My wake-up call came when I was charged with assault after attacking someone close to me while in an alcoholic blackout. Though I could not remember committing the assault I knew that I had and therefore chose to plead guilty, against my solicitor’s advice. I was sentenced to twenty four months of probation and not long afterwards I chose to go into a residential rehab centre for five months of treatment. While in rehab I eventually started to feel very positive and decided to start undertaking voluntary work after leaving. I left rehab last June but though still sober and fervently wishing to remain so, the positivity has gone and I have not even tried to seek voluntary work. The cold hard fact of my criminal record has hit home and I feel utterly depressed and hopeless. Before I allowed my drinking to take over my mind and soul I had worked for twelve years as a nursing auxillary on an adult oncology ward at a major London hospital. I applied for that job because I had always wanted to be a nurse and felt that it would be invaluable experience in eventually achieving my goal. I was very hard-working and conscientious and always had a great rapport with patients.I know that I was excellent at my work and the reason for that is that I really cared about what I was doing, I cared about our patients and wanted to do my bit to help ensure that they received the very highest possible standard of care during their fight against the terrible disease that is cancer or in their final weeks and days once the battle had been sadly lost. My line manager felt that I had so much potential that she wanted to have me seconded for nurse training, an opportunity offered to only ten auxillary nurses/health care assistants throughout the whole Trust per year. I would love to go back to that field of work or something similiar
    but know that my criminal record prevents me doing so. I am painfully aware that my criminal record will make it difficult for me to gain any employment, not just in the caring field. I still feel deeply remorseful about what I did and always will. I know that what I did was despicable and I deserved to be punished. What I dearly would like now is to once again be a responsible, working, included member of society making a positive contribution and making amends. However, I am failing to imagine doing that with my criminal record. What shall I do?

    • diamonds
      April 30, 2012 at 8:05 pm

      You have served your sentence! Why punish yourself any further the way things are they might as well give you handouts as they sure don’t want to help you you can’t win mate! Sod the lot of them!

    • Philomena Murphy
      May 23, 2012 at 1:42 pm

      I am the resettlement officer at the kensington and Chelsea volunteer centre I work with offenders and ex offenders helping them to get voluntary work and paid employment, anyone can drop into the volunteer centre or give me a call you can turn the corner if you want to. kind regards

    • Caroline
      January 17, 2015 at 2:35 am

      Lelly, have you thought about being a media or nurse in the forces? Also I would contact the care centres as if your conviction was due to alcohol you could probably get the care job with regular alcohol tests. Don’t give up. Contact your probation and make them work for their money. They can recommend you and write character references. Also contact citizens advice and any counselling centres like ‘relate’. I honestly believe the biggest problem is after committing crime people can think they are not deserving of a life but you are. Fight for it, you are worth it. And we all know more care workers are needed especially those who give a shit. Please don’t give up.

  12. andrea smith
    November 17, 2011 at 12:40 pm

    my 25 year old has a juvenille conviction from when she was 13, for assault. sometimes this shows up on crb checks and not on others. she has worked as a carer for two years but has now been told that she will find it hard to get another care job due to her conviction. how long does she need to be punished.

    • Caroline
      January 17, 2015 at 2:36 am

      That should be removed. I would kick off with the police and courts.

  13. neil
    November 2, 2011 at 9:16 am

    POLICY OF TRUTH! Or THE TRUTH OF HOW INSURANCE COVER AFFECTS THE SOCIALLY EXCLUDED AND THE UK ECONOMY
    THE ISSUE
    There are still major insurance issues faced by an estimated, eight million UK, and Northern Ireland residents who have a current unspent criminal conviction that may stop them starting either a business or going about their every lives thus contributing to society.
    Similar issues are faced by bankrupts and those with adverse credit history
    Mainstream Insurers are either refusing them Insurance or restricting cover including Employers Liability which is a requirement by Law
    For those venturing out with a new enterprise, or still trying to get the correct cover including Public Liability cover, as well as cover for the business assets
    Many would be clients of insurers maybe unsure or unaware that there is a DUTY OF THE POLICYHOLDER TO DISCLOSE MATERIAL FACTS THAT COULD AFFECT THE POLICY
    For example a MATERIAL FACT that must be disclosed relates to criminal convictions
    With Insurance becoming an automated process either being bought via the internet or at call centres manned by staff that may not have vast experience the important issues of disclosing material facts is often never pointed out
    ?
    The fact that the Internet type policies are offered at perhaps slightly unrealistically low rates without checking on convictions etc is also affecting the Insurance Premium Tax revenue as well
    It is muted that insurers may be taking on risks that will be invalidated when claims occur and the conviction is brought to light
    Perhaps this is an explanation as to how those insurers can cut the premiums is that there are a substantial number of the total policies sold that will not pay out in the event of a claim as they can just be invalided due to the conviction. Figures from the Financial Ombudsman Service are indicating a greater number of complaints of this nature
    . This matter has been raised with insurance industry via the Financial Services Authority, the British Insurance Brokers Association and the Association of British Insurers But no real action is being taken to solve the problem OF NOT TREATING POLICYHOLDERS FAIRLY
    . It has been proven by a number of ex offender organisations that this issue is in fact a reality, either the main stream insurers go out of there way to hide the fact that convictions are to be disclosed or when the policyholder does disclosure they are refused cover or given a poor service .

    CASE STUDIES/EXAMPLES
    Q What are the problems faced by ex offenders looking for insurance?
    Many ex offenders are unaware that they must disclose any unspent criminal conviction no matter how minor on an insurance proposal form. Do not be fooled, just because an insurer does not ask if you have any convictions, does not mean you do not need to disclose them. Unless all your convictions are declared and agreed in writing with an insurer, any claim against the policy may be refused. You could even be charged with attempting to defraud the insurers for non-disclosure of a conviction and potentially face another conviction.
    Anyone who has, or lives with anyone who has, any unspent conviction should always read insurance policies carefully. Be on the lookout for the phrase “DO YOU OR ANY MEMBER OF THE FAMILY HAVE UNSPENT CRIMINAL CONVICTIONS?” Remember it is when you come to make a claim that things can go very wrong.
    When insurance cover is cancelled for non-disclosure of a conviction you will be unable to make a claim on the policy.
    Q Why do ex-offenders face issues with insurance?
    It has long been considered that someone with a conviction is a bad risk, although this attitude has never been proved. It just seems to be an unwritten rule in insurance. A more enlightened approach to insurance not only for ex offenders but also individuals with adverse credit has been hard to find. Mainstream comparison websites have offered little or no assistance in this area,
    Q What can ex offenders do to help reduce their insurance premium?
    Firstly do not waste money buying a worthless policy without disclosure! Be honest disclosing convictions to the right insurance broker should not cause a problem. Correct disclosure does not always mean increased insurance premiums but it defiantly means you are insured.
    Q What do you think the future holds for ex offenders facing insurance issues?
    The Financial Services Authority has been aware of the bad practice of unfairly treating ex offenders and other socially or financially excluded groups. Current figures suggest there are 8 million people in the UK with unspent criminal convictions, which consequently affects other family members.
    CURRENT PRACTISES AND THE FAULTS
    .Due to these insurers relying on high volume sales they have adopted, rather than the traditional policy method of issuing a comprehensive proposal form for the policyholder to complete they use what is referred to as assumptions. A standard statement set that the policyholder should read and understand prior to purchasing the policy. Within this assumption there are words similar to “Neither you nor any member have an unspent criminal conviction” as well as other facts that will affect the validity of the policy.
    . The problem this causes is that it compounds the confusion of the policyholder as rather than making clear from the outset that the insurer will not or cannot accept risks where a Criminal or bankruptcy situation is disclosed it is done at final point of sale. Also at that late stage a point the policyholder cannot understand
    . A better practice will be making it compulsory with all online/telesales insurance purchased that the “standard statement” is highlighted before the purchase even begins and when the policyholder confirms they do not comply the quote process ceases and they should be re directed to a specialist provider who will cater for them after full disclosure . There was a working party group formed by the consortium of online insurance aggregators and insurers who had this matter on their agenda after regulatory pressure. The group did not last very long and in fact did not ever actively function
    . Private sector/ Government departmental misconception
    Those organisations working with ex offenders cannot or do not understand the issue actually exists as it is not part of their operating remit or practice
    .Public misconception. The public in truth only have a vague understanding of the insurance process ridded with hearsay and miss conception/ urban myths so a great need of re education is needed about DISCLOSURE OF MATERIAL FACTS, also that it is possible to obtain insurance with criminal convictions and that importantly when dealt with by specialist providers who are socially aware and are truly ethical.
    Also that in truth it should cost the same premium with disclosure as it does without the public fear is that if they do disclose the premium will become un affordable which is in fact should not be the case
    SOLUTION IN CONCLUSION
    The mainstream insurers must be forced to act fairly with clients and cease using public lack of awareness or ignorance as means to sell them worthless cover and be more forthright about the risks they can accept and those they cannot IE ensuring the “standard statement” precludes any cover purchase and that they work with specialist providers who can
    There is also a huge need for organisations working with ex offenders to understand the issue so that the correct guidance is given at point of prosecution & rehabilitation

  14. Ian
    October 12, 2011 at 9:55 am

    The legal system in the U.K. is extremely unfair when it comes to persons having commited a crime and done the time.
    I have a crimminal record for domestic violence, which is something that I am NOT proud about. This means that when I used to apply for a job, my c.r.b. check would let me down, especialy if being interviewed by a female. Yes I was guilty of my offence but there were many circumstances involved at the time that helped to create my offence. I am glad to say that 3years ago I got married to another woman, who knows about my offence, and we have a very caring and sharing loving relationship. I have not evan been close to commiting domestic violence since my conviction.
    This has proven to me that people can change given the oppurtunity and support. At the moment I am self employed, and I am happy to help other people back to work.
    Please can you advise me if there is a website or organisation that I can get in touch with to help exoffenders achieve what I have.
    Locally I am seen as a bit of a hero for lending our local pub £20,000 to save the tenant losing his tenancy, the brewery were prepared to sell the pub to allow it to be turned into flats.
    Quite a good sense of achievement for an ex-offender don’t you think???

    • Raymond Peytors - theopinionsite.org
      October 12, 2011 at 10:34 am

      I am not aware of any website or organisation that really fits your need. However, there is nothing to stop you from starting one. As with so many ex-offenders, self-employment seems to be the only route available. Unfortunately, not everyone has the necessary qualities to succeed as a self-employed person.

    • Kathryn Coates
      January 25, 2012 at 11:35 pm

      Hi Ian, I know your post was a few months back but if you are not already aware check out an organisation called UNLOCK (www.unlock.org.uk)

      Regards

      Kat

    • diamonds
      April 30, 2012 at 8:01 pm

      According to your article you are one of the lucky ones. You had to be self employed though as no one would give you a second chance!

      That is the way life is you make one mistake, and that is it; you could never return to a normal life to contribute to society forever looking over your shoulders wondering who knows about your past. We have become judgemental and unforgiving I am pleased for you mate hold your head up high you made your own way and your own money!!

  15. Mark
    September 2, 2011 at 5:19 pm

    I was given a custodial sentence of three and a half years in april 2003 for being present when some of my mates committed a street robbery, the sentence was later reduced to 18 months by the court of appeal who based their decision on the fact I didn’t play an active role in the robbery. If I was not fortunate enough to have my sentence reduced it would never become spent meaning I would always have to disclose my conviction when asked and have it show up on a CRB check for life. In some instances if not all this in my opinion can be too harsh because its preventing ex offenders from ever being employed. The current government does little to ensure ex offenders receive help against re-offending and help in finding employment, instead it seems to be content with ex offenders signing on for the rest of their lives or going back to prison. What the government does not understand is that those in this situation have their whole future destroyed because of one or two mistakes basically they go into prison serve their time, come out and continue to be punished for the rest of their life’s. Those who have not experienced this type of hardship would probably feel its right to have such harsh measures in place but what they cant see is that these measures are damaging society.

  16. ad
    September 1, 2011 at 10:59 pm

    hi
    i know this doesnt relate specifically to the topic but in hoping someone can answer for me. iv worked at the same place for 4years(admin based role-no contact with children) and 2 years ago i was put on sex offenders register for 7 years for drunkenly slaping a womans bottom. i wasnt sent to prison my work didnt find out and i still work there.i am a permanent employee but my company is contracted to work for another company.recently a contractor of a different company was found to be shipping cocaine through the post system of the company.hes been caught and arrested.but now the company wants all contractors to redo their crb checks. does this mean i will lose my job when they find out?what are my rights? would i better off leaving ?or telling them before they find out?any help greatly appreciated.not having another job the rest of my life wud scare the hell out of me ive just turned 30.

    • Raymond Peytors - theopinionsite.org
      September 2, 2011 at 10:42 am

      At present, it is up to employers to decide who they can employ. If a negative CRB check is a factor, it does not necessarily mean you will not keep your present job as it does not involve children. The truth is though that should you ever apply for a different job with a different company, the CRB check may very well dissuade other employers from taking you on. This is normally the case, particularly when there is high unemployment. The government has supposedly been addressing this issue for over a year now but so far has come up with nothing realistic. Without being pushy, I would also suggest that you join the thousands of people who read our free magazine and, when it comes online on 15th if this month, join our exclusive members club which includes a confidential advice service specifically for people like you. That way you will always be up to date with current developments and can get appropriate advice. You can read more in the magazine. Just fill in the form on the left hand side of the page for instant access. – Editor

  17. Joe
    July 17, 2011 at 2:14 pm

    I am 38 with a BSc degree in biomedical science. I am also an ex offender having served around five years in custody on and off from the age of 18 to 28. My last offence was 11 years ago. I have a permanent criminal record for receiving a one year and a two year sentence consecutively for burglary of a non dwelling and possession of a replica firearm. I just want to share my experience. I was not in possession of the firearm when I committed a car theft but I was still convicted. I have always put my hands up to offences when caught but estimate I was caught for 70% of the offences I committed. I have never physically hurt another person or forced them against their will. I have finally rehabilitated myself after causing many people and myself a lot of misery with my offending. I can find NO place for people in my situation to be helped into work, just soft talking before hitting a brick wall. My employer exploits me because he knows I have a record and refuses to pay me fairly. I know corrupt legal and social professionals, I had sexual contact with my probation officer as a youth offender. I do have to apply twice for every job, once with everyone else and once against my record and I apply for many. I have three excellent CV’s, Biomedical Scientist – Bar Manager – Community Worker, I also am licensed to drive three types of forklift truck. I have to rely on other people’s compassion and social status TOTALY if am to succeed at anything and I will never have the freedom of the workplace no matter how hard I try.
    I am going to self employ and ‘to hang’ with the rats that race.
    I will change the world.
    Please give me a job

    • Raymond Peytors - theopinionsite.org
      July 17, 2011 at 3:01 pm

      Thank you for your comment Joe. There are thousands of talented, well educated, capable people like yourself who are in a similar position. For sex offenders of any variety, the situation is even worse and most will never be able to work again. According to the DWP, “Convincing employers to take on ex-offenders and especially those with sensitive convictions [It seems they are not brave enought to use the phrase ‘sex offender’ – Ed] is extremely difficult”. Well. we know it’s difficult so why doesn’t the government employ them? Go self-employed Joe. I notice you have subcribed to our magazine. You will find news about the Elite Money Makers inside which may be of interest to you.

  18. Officer B
    June 22, 2011 at 10:06 am

    I am a Probation Officer and I think the articele is very misleading. All my colleagues try very hard to get clients jobs knowing this has a huge impact on their ressetlement back into the local community. I have a huge workload thats ever increasing, I try and do all I can for clients but I only have limited time. I motivate and encourage clients to seek ways of making positive chanhes in their life. However I am frustrated by the lack of specialist help getting them back into employment. I hit brick walls all the time. It IS right to say it is not our responsibility to get them a job, we are Probation officers NOT welfare officers, we signpost to other agencies for housing, substance misuse, employment, trianing etc… I deal with their attitudes and behaviours. I cannot be a super hero and be an expert in all the many issues they present themselves. The blame lies with the government and the barriers they create ie, CRB checks, lack of funding for specialist agencies. I can assure everyone the Probation Service shares the frustrations about the lack of oppertunities for all ex-offenders and we regularly complain to NOMS, MOJ and anyone who will listen.

    • Raymond Peytors - theopinionsite.org
      June 22, 2011 at 10:20 am

      Thank you for your comment which is refreshingly honest. Given that it is difficult for you and your colleagues to help your clients find employment, how much more difficult would it be for say a sex-offender to find work? Many convicted sex-offenders, unlike some violent offenders for example, never work again having been released from prison. What is worse, nobody wants to talk about the problem, let alone offer a solution. You are certainly correct when you say the government are to blame, not least because they give way to the tabloids on every occasion. It also seems to many that the younger probation officers are far less prepared to adopt your own approach, preferring instead to take a risk-averse attitude with an emphasis on recall, particularly for sexual, violent and prolific offenders; the very people who, along with the public, would probably benefit most from ex-offenders being employed. Thank you again for your comment.

  19. March 3, 2011 at 1:19 am

    All the “Laura Norder’ so-called tough on crime reactionary actions just create a rod for the back of future politicians.

    Of course it makes good social and practical sense to assist all ex-prisoners into work even if it means governments creating genuine occupations.

    The alternative is a life on benefits. But career politicans these days do not act because they entered politics to advance their genuine ideals be they conservative or liberal-it’s merely a caeer path to greater riches. The media says jump and they say ‘can we jump even higher for you’.

    As patrick says-people are continually pounished long after they have served a sentence. The system is unjust and it’s not about keeping order-it’s about feeding the tabloid monster.

  20. Patrick
    March 2, 2011 at 12:27 pm

    Was actually released in March 1990!!.

  21. Patrick
    March 2, 2011 at 10:54 am

    I was arrested in the summer of 1983, convicted in 1984, and was released in March 1992. The offence was of a political nature. I have been barred from working with children, was refused entry to the US in 2005, arrested in Canada (which they denied), strip searched, photographed, fingerprinted, and threatened with rearrest if i did not leave the country the next day. The holiday originally cost £5,000, and the return flight was a further £1,000!. So yes, i know ALL about discrimination!.

  22. paul
    February 22, 2011 at 11:17 pm

    Absolutely right. The government could and should help people with criminal records who want to work. The goverbment os the country’s biggest employer so they should employ. Simple really

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

SPAM protection: Please fill in the missing number... Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.